Welcome Visitor
Thu, Jun 1, 2023
105 members
City council candidates file in Crocker, Waynesville; school candidates file in Richland
CORRECTION APPENDED: An earlier version of this article incorrectly stated that Waynesville resident Charles Anderson had filed for the Ward II seat currently held by Councilwoman Adele Nickels, who has not yet filed. Anderson has filed to run against incumbent Ward I Councilwoman Diana Stanford, who filed last month for re-election.

PULASKI COUNTY, Mo. (Jan. 12, 2009) — As the deadline for candidate filings approaches, more people turned in their candidacy papers for the Richland R-IV School Board, Crocker City Council and Waynesville City Council.

Shortly before the close of business on Friday, Richland school officials received candidacy paperwork from Mike Calvetti and on Monday received an additional filing from Jerry Pemberton. Both are running for the two-year terms currently held by Troy Posten and Jo-Ellen Ferguson, neither of whom has filed for re-election, and join Brenda Mathes, Elizabeth Warren and Donna Guevremont, all of whom filed in December.

In Crocker, two candidates have filed for the Ward I two-year seat currently held by Alderman Jim Patton. Patton filed Friday and a challenger, Bill Laughlin, turned in his paperwork on Monday. Another Ward I seat is for an unexpired one-year term held by Alderman Jeff Curry. Crocker Ward II Alderman Kim Skaggs-Henson has not yet filed her candidacy papers.

On Monday, Charles Anderson filed for the Ward I city council seat in Waynesville currently held by Councilwoman Diana Stanford. Except for Anderson, no one but the incumbents have filed for any seat. Ward I Councilwoman Diana Stanford, Ward III Councilwoman Luge Hardman, and Ward IV Councilman Mike France and all seeking re-election to two-year terms, and Butch O’Riley, who was appointed to fill an unexpired term, filed to fill the remaining one year of his term. All filed candidacy papers in December. Adele Nickels, who has not yet turned in her candidacy papers, is the only city council member who hasn’t filed candidacy documents.

Those who want to run for positions on Pulaski County’s five city councils, six school boards, two ambulance districts and for the Dixon and Crocker fire district boards have until Jan. 20 to file candidacy papers.

School boards, ambulance boards and rural fire boards are elected by their district’s residents but don’t have to hold an election if the same number of candidates file as are to be elected. School boards usually have multiple candidates, but fire and ambulance boards often don’t have to go through the expense of an election.

So far, it’s certain that the Crocker Fire Board, Crocker R-II School Board, Richland R-IV School Board, Waynesville VI School Board, and Laquey R-V School Board will have an election, but no other ambulance, school or fire boards yet have a contested election. On the other hand, some boards such as the Dixon Fire Board, Dixon Ambulance Board, Plato R-V School Board and Swedeborg R-III School Board haven’t had enough candidates file and will have to hold an election with write-in candidates unless enough people run to fill the positions.

The complete list to date of candidate filings for school and city offices is as follows, along with special districts:

Crocker City Council: (all 2 year terms unless specified)
Mayor (2-year term): Jim Morgan (filed 12/16)
Ward I (2-year term): Jim Patton (filed 1/9) Challenger Bill Laughlin (filed 1/12)
Ward I (1 year unexpired term): Jeff Curry (filed 1/2)
Ward II (2-year term): Kim Skaggs-Henson (not yet filed)

Dixon City Council: (all two-year terms)
Mayor: Darrell French (filed 1/5)
Judge: Evan Shackleford (not yet filed)
Ward I: Vienna Tyson (filed 12/18)
Ward II: Steven Parker (not yet filed)
Ward III: John Sheppard (filed 1/5)

Richland City Council: (all 2 year terms)
Mayor: Bob Wall (filed 12/16), Challenger Kimi Gerred (filed 12/19)
Judge: Rodney Blanchard (filed 12/16)
Ward I: Eldon Haun (not yet filed), Challenger Larry Jeffries (filed 12/29)
Ward II Mac Myers (filed 1/2), Challenger Thomas Murphy (filed 12/30)
Ward III: Tim Bailey (filed 12/23)

St. Robert City Council (all 2 year terms)
Mayor: George Sanders (filed 12/17)
Ward I: Theresa Cook (filed 12/30), Challenger Charles Slider (filed 1/5)
Ward II: Gene Newkirk (filed 12/23)
Ward III: Allan Johannsen (filed 1/5)
Ward IV: Bill Shaw (filed 12/18)

Waynesville City Council: (all 2 year terms unless specified)
Ward I: Diana Stanford (filed 12/16) Challenger Charles Anderson (filed 1/12)
Ward II: Adele Nickels (not yet filed)
Ward III: Luge Hardman (filed 12/16)
Ward IV: Mike France (filed 12/16)
Ward IV (unexpired): Butch O’Riley (filed 12/18)

Crocker R-II School Board (3 year terms):
Incumbents: Charles Worstell (filed 12/16), Jeff Curry (filed 12/17)
Challengers: John Riffe (filed 1/8), Rebecca Ruckman Posten (filed 1/8)

Dixon R-I School Board (3 year terms):
Incumbents: Troy Porter (filed 12/16), Craig Rivera (filed 12/16)

Laquey R-V School Board (3 year terms):
Incumbents: Mary Cristoffer (filed 12/16), Mary Ann Miller (not yet filed)
Challengers: Larry Southard (filed 12/16), Fanny Gan (filed 12/18)

Plato R-V School Board (3 year terms):
Incumbents: Mike Friend (not yet filed), Penny Morrison (not yet filed)
Incumbent (2 year term): Pete Scurlock (not yet filed)

Richland R-IV School Board (3 year terms):
Incumbents: Troy Posten (not yet filed), Jo-Ellen Ferguson (not yet filed)
Challenger: Brenda Mathes (filed 12/17), Elizabeth Warren (12/19), Donna Guevremont (12/19), Mike Calvetti (1/9), Jerry Pemberton (filed 1/12)

Swedeborg R-III School Board (3 year terms):
Incumbents: Wayne King (filed 12/16), Jamie Alexander (not yet filed)
Incumbent (1 year term): Alexis Roam (filed 12/18)

Waynesville R-VI School District (3 year terms):
Incumbents: Randy Walters (filed 12/16), David Tritten (not yet filed)
Challengers: Leroy Fulmer (filed 12/16), Herman Blau (filed 12/16), Melvin Hensley (filed 12/16)

Crocker Rural Fire Protection District (3 year terms):
Incumbents: Robert Ishmael (filed 12/16), David Ellzey (will not file)
Challengers: Jeff Porter (filed 12/17), Randall Moore (1/2)

Dixon Rural Fire Protection District (6 and 3-year terms):
Incumbent: Les Clark (filed 12/23), Jim Humphrey (not yet filed)

Pulaski County Ambulance District (3-year terms)
Waynesville Subdistrict 3: Cindy Walters (not yet filed)
Crocker Subdistrict 6: Larry Salveter (incumbent, not yet filed), Ronnie Layman (challenger, filed 12/23)

Dixon Ambulance District (3-year terms)
Subdistrict 1: Dennis Lachowicz (not yet filed)
Subdistrict 4: Art Forshey (not yet filed)

Click here to comment for local opinion

Printer-friendly format

Do you know someone else who would like to see this?
Your Email:
Their Email:
(Will be included with e-mail)
Secret Code

In the box below, enter the Secret Code exactly as it appears above *


Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: