Welcome Visitor
Tue, Nov 28, 2023
163 members
County candidate list complete; five more people waited until final day
PULASKI COUNTY, Mo. (March 30, 2010) — The final list of Pulaski County candidates compiled as of 5 p.m. shows that four candidates filed on Tuesday, the last day for candidates to file for the Republican and Democratic nominations. An additional two candidates filed Monday.

New candidates filing Tuesday are:

• Democrat Ray Campbell of St. Robert filed Tuesday against incumbent Democratic Presiding Commissioner Don McCulloch of Waynesville. The winner of that race will face the winner in a three-person Republican field involving Gene Newkirk of St. Robert and two Crocker residents, Don Mayhew and Dennis Thornsberry.

• Republican Kevin Hillman of Waynesville, who now works full-time as the St. Robert city attorney and part-time as the Waynesville municipal judge, filed on Tuesday for Pulaski County Prosecuting Attorney. Hillman joins the incumbent Republican prosecutor Deborah Hooper of Waynesville and Republican challenger Jeff Thomas of Dixon, an attorney in private practice working in St. Robert with his father, longtime local attorney Jim Thomas. The winner will face Wayne Gifford, the only Democrat who filed.

• Republicans Debbie P. Harris of Richland and Larry Southard of Laquey, and Democrat Ted Helms of Crocker, all of whom filed Tuesday for the seat being vacated by Pulaski County Treasurer Morris Roam, a Democrat from Crocker who was appointed by Gov. Jay Nixon to fill a vacancy after Barbara Thomas, a Dixon Republican, resigned last fall. Roam decided not to run for election to the seat and until today the only candidate was Waynesville Republican Sue Rapone, who is currently the deputy public administrator working under Pulaski County Public Administrator Loretta Rouse. The winner in the three-way Republican race will face Helms, who is the only Democrat seeking the treasurer’s post.

Candidates filing Monday were Thornsberry for Presiding Commissioner and Ken Miller, a St. Robert Republican seeking to unseat incumbent Circuit Court Clerk Rachelle Beasley, a Waynesville Democrat. All the other candidates filed long ago.

One officeholder won’t face any opposition on either the Republican or Democrat tickets. Pulaski County Collector Terri Mitchell of Richland, who defeated Brent Bassett four years ago in a hotly-contested Republican primary and then went on to win the general election over Democratic candidate Richard Breeden, won’t need to spend any money or time campaigning this year. Nobody filed against her in the August Republican primary and no Democrat filed for their party’s primary for that office.

Another race will be decided in the Republican primary. County Clerk Diana Linnenbringer is retiring after two four-year terms as county clerk and numerous prior years working in child support enforcement under former Pulaski County Prosecuting Attorney Mike Headrick, and no Democrats filed for the post. Republican candidates are Becky Reid of Richland, Brent Bassett of St. Robert and Whitney Medlen of Crocker, all of whom filed long ago.

All of the local circuit court judicial posts are held by Democrats and none face opposition in either their own party’s primary; no Republicans filed against them. Barring extraordinary situations, that means incumbent Associate Circuit Judge Colin Long of Waynesville, who is assigned to the magistrate division, incumbent Associate Circuit Judge Greg Warren of Richland, who is assigned to the probate division, and incumbent Circuit Judge Mary Sheffield of Rolla, who was elected by her colleagues as presiding judge for the four-county 25th Judicial Circuit, will be re-elected without opposition.

At the state level, 148th District State Rep. David Day of Dixon, who serves most of Pulaski County, and 147th District State Rep. Don Wells of Cabool, who serves the Big Piney area of far southeast Pulaski County as well as Texas County, both filed for re-election on the first day but face no opposition in the Republican primary. No Democrats have filed for either position.

State Sen. Frank Barnitz, a Democrat from the community of Lake Spring in Dent County, is seeking re-election to the 16th State Senate District. He faces no challenger in his party’s primary, but Republican candidate Dan W. Brown of Rolla filed to replace him. Brown has no opposition in the Republican primary.

Related articles

THIS ARTICLE: County candidate list complete; five more people waited until final day
Posted: Tuesday, March 30, 2010 7:39 pm

Thornsberry, Miller file for county office; deadline at 5 p.m. today
Posted: Tuesday, March 30, 2010 4:01 am

Mayhew files Monday for Pulaski County Presiding Commissioner post
Posted: Wednesday, March 3, 2010 12:00 am

Two more candidates file for county office; treasurer hasn't yet decided
Posted: Tuesday, February 23, 2010 4:50 pm

Aspiring to office, candidates for county races fill hallway at 8 a.m.
Posted: Tuesday, February 23, 2010 9:45 am

County candidate filing begins today; McCulloch to be among first-day filers
Posted: Tuesday, February 23, 2010 4:55 am

Governor appoints McCulloch as new Pulaski County Presiding Commissioner
Posted: Wednesday, December 2, 2009 11:58 pm

Republicans ask governor to put Dennis Thornsberry back on commission
Posted: Tuesday, November 10, 2009 4:05 pm

Click here to follow the Pulaski County Daily News on Twitter
Click here to follow the Pulaski County Daily News on Facebook

Click here to comment for local opinion

Printer-friendly format

Do you know someone else who would like to see this?
Your Email:
Their Email:
(Will be included with e-mail)
Secret Code

In the box below, enter the Secret Code exactly as it appears above *


Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: