Welcome Visitor
Wed, Mar 29, 2023
186 members
Richland mayor to face challenger
CORRECTION APPENDED: Incorrect ward numbers were listed for Richland aldermen and for the Crocker subdistrict of the Pulaski County Ambulance District.

RICHLAND, Mo. (Dec. 19, 2008) — One more candidate filed on Friday for a city council seat in Pulaski County.

In Richland, incumbent Mayor Bob Wall will face a challenge from Kimi Gerred. Gerred joins Wall and Municipal Judge Rodney Blanchard as the only candidates who have turned in papers so far for the five positions that are open this year in that city; incumbent Ward I Alderman Mac Myers, Ward II Alderman Tim Bailey and Ward III Alderman Eldon Haun have not yet filed. All of the five Richland positions are for two-year terms.

Positions as city council members are available in all five Pulaski County cities, as well as the mayors of Crocker, Dixon, Richland, and St. Robert and the municipal judges of Dixon and Richland. At least two and sometimes three seats are up for all six school boards in Pulaski County.

Some special districts such as fire and ambulance districts also have seats open this year, though state law allows school districts, fire districts and ambulance districts to avoid the expense of an election if the same number of candidates file as the number of seats to be filled. Both of Pulaski County’s ambulance districts and at least two of the eight fire districts in Pulaski County have seats open this year for which filing data hasn’t previously been reported.

Filing continues until Jan. 20, though many school districts close their offices during the Christmas holiday season. Candidates do not file at the county courthouse and should file with their city clerk, at their school board office, or at their ambulance district office. Since the Dixon and Crocker fire districts don't have full-time office staff, candidates can file at the Crocker City Hall or at the Dixon office of Bassett Realty.

The Pulaski County Ambulance District, which covers all of Pulaski County except the Dixon area and extends northwest into part of Camden County near Richland, has two seats open but as of Friday afternoon, nobody has yet filed for Cindy Walters’ Subdistrict 3 covering Waynesville or Larry Salveter’s Subdistrict 4 seat covering Crocker.

The Dixon Ambulance District, which also extends north of Dixon into other counties, has Dennis Lachowicz’s Subdistrict 1 seat and Art Forshey’s Subdistrict 4 seat open, but as of Friday afternoon, nobody had filed for either seat.

The Crocker Rural Fire Protection District has two seats open, those belonging to Robert Ishmael and David Ellzey. Ellzey does not plan to file, but Ishmael filed on Dec. 16, the first day of filing, and Jeff Porter filed on Dec. 17.

The Dixon Rural Fire Protection District also has two positions open, but nobody had filed as of Friday afternoon.

The complete list to date of candidate filings for school and city offices is as follows, along with special districts:

Crocker City Council: (all 2-year terms unless specified)
Mayor (2-year term): Jim Morgan (filed 12/16)
Ward I (2-year term): Jim Patton (not yet filed)
Ward I (1 year unexpired term): Jeff Curry (not yet filed)
Ward II (2-year term): Kim Skaggs-Henson (not yet filed)

Dixon City Council: (all 2-year terms)
Mayor: Darrell French (not yet filed)
Judge: Evan Shackleford (not yet filed)
Ward I: Vienna Tyson (filed 12/18)
Ward II: Steven Parker (not yet filed)
Ward III: John Sheppard (not yet filed)

Richland City Council: (all 2-year terms)
Mayor: Bob Wall (filed 12/16), Challenger Kimi Gerred (filed 12/19)
Judge: Rodney Blanchard (filed 12/16)
Ward I: Eldon Haun (not yet filed)
Ward II Mac Myers (not yet filed)
Ward III: Tim Bailey (not yet filed)

St. Robert City Council (all 2-year terms)
Mayor: George Sanders (filed 12/17)
Ward I: Theresa Cook (not yet filed)
Ward II: Gene Newkirk (not yet filed)
Ward III: Allan Johannsen (not yet filed)
Ward IV: Bill Shaw (filed 12/18)

Waynesville City Council: (all 2-year terms unless specified)
Ward I: Diana Stanford (filed 12/16)
Ward II: Adele Nickels (not yet filed)
Ward III: Luge Hardman (filed 12/16)
Ward IV: Mike France (filed 12/16)
Ward IV (unexpired 1-year term): Butch O’Riley (filed 12/18)

Crocker R-II School Board (3-year terms):
Incumbents: Charles Worstell (filed 12/16), Jeff Curry (filed 12/17)

Dixon R-I School Board (3-year terms):
Incumbents: Troy Porter (filed 12/16), Craig Rivera (filed 12/16)

Laquey R-V School Board (3-year terms):
Incumbents: Mary Cristoffer (filed 12/16), Mary Ann Miller (not yet filed)
Challengers: Larry Southard (filed 12/16), Fanny Gan (filed 12/18)

Plato R-V School Board (3-year terms):
Incumbents: Mike Friend (not yet filed), Penny Morrison (not yet filed)
Incumbent (2 year term): Pete Scurlock (not yet filed)

Richland R-IV School Board (3-year terms):
Incumbents: Troy Posten (not yet filed), Jo-Ellen Ferguson (not yet filed)
Challenger: Brenda Mathes (filed 12/17)

Swedeborg R-III School Board (3-year terms unless specified):
Incumbents: Wayne King (filed 12/16), Jamie Alexander (not yet filed)
Incumbent (1 year term): Alexis Roam (not yet filed)

Waynesville R-VI School District (3-year terms):
Incumbents: Randy Walters (filed 12/16), David Tritten (not yet filed) 
Challengers: Leroy Fulmer (filed 12/16), Herman Blau (filed 12/16), Melvin Hensley (filed 12/16)

Crocker Rural Fire Protection District (3-year terms):
Incumbents: Robert Ishmael (filed 12/16), David Ellzey (will not file)
Challengers: Jeff Porter (filed 12/17)

Pulaski County Ambulance District (3-year terms)
Waynesville Subdistrict 3: Cindy Walters (not yet filed)
Crocker Subdistrict 6: Larry Salveter (not yet filed)

Dixon Ambulance District (3-year terms)
Subdistrict 1: Dennis Lachowicz (not yet filed)
Subdistrict 4: Art Forshey (not yet filed)

Click here to follow the Pulaski County Daily News on Twitter
Click here to follow the Pulaski County Daily News on Facebook  

Local Opinion

Printer-friendly format

Login and voice your opinion!
Do you know someone else who would like to see this?
Your Email:
Their Email:
(Will be included with e-mail)
Secret Code

In the box below, enter the Secret Code exactly as it appears above *


Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: