Welcome Visitor
Tue, Nov 28, 2023
163 members
More candidates file in Richland, Laquey, Crocker, St. Robert, Waynesville

CORRECTION APPENDED: Incorrect ward numbers were listed for Richland aldermen.

PULASKI COUNTY, Mo. (Dec. 18, 2008) — Several new candidates filed on Wednesday or Thursday for seats on city councils and school boards in Pulaski County.

Most but not all of the new filings are incumbents filing for their current offices. The lone exceptions are in the Richland and Laquey school boards.

In Laquey, Fanny Gan filed Thursday and joined challenger Larry Southard and incumbent Mary Cristoffer in bidding for two open seats on the Laquey R-V School Board. Incumbent Mary Ann Miller has not yet filed.

In Richland, challenger Brenda Mathes became the first person to file for a seat on the Richland R-IV School Board when she turned in her candidacy papers on Wednesday. Neither of the incumbents, Troy Posten and Jo-Ellen Ferguson, have yet filed.

In Crocker, school board member Jeff Curry filed Wednesday for re-election, joining the other incumbent, board president Charles Worstell, who filed for re-election the previous day. That means if nobody else files for the Crocker R-II School Board, Crocker will not have to pay for the expense of a school board election.

In Dixon, Ward I Alderman Vienna Tyson filed Thursday for re-election to her city council seat. So far, no other candidates or incumbents have filed in Dixon, which has two-year positions open for mayor, municipal judge, and aldermen in all three wards.

In St. Robert, Mayor George Sanders filed for re-election on Wednesday and Ward IV Alderman Bill Shaw filed on Thursday for the city council. No other candidate has yet filed for alderman of the other three wards.

In Waynesville, Councilman Butch O’Riley, who was appointed earlier this year to fill an unexpired term in Ward IV when former councilman Pat Howe moved out of the city, filed for re-election on Thursday to fill the remaining one year of his term. That leaves Ward II Councilwoman Adele Nickels as the only person who has not yet filed for re-election to the city council.

The complete list to date of candidate filings for school and city offices is as follows:

Crocker City Council:
Mayor (2-year term): Jim Morgan (filed 12/16)
Ward I (2-year term): Jim Patton (not yet filed)
Ward I (1 year unexpired term): Jeff Curry (not yet filed)
Ward II (2-year term): Kim Skaggs-Henson (not yet filed)

Dixon City Council: (all two-year terms)
Mayor: Darrell French (not yet filed)
Judge: Evan Shackleford (not yet filed)
Ward I: Vienna Tyson (filed 12/18)
Ward II: Steven Parker (not yet filed)
Ward III: John Sheppard (not yet filed)

Richland City Council: 
Mayor: Bob Wall (filed 12/16)
Judge: Rodney Blanchard (filed 12/16)
Ward I: Eldon Haun (not yet filed)
Ward II Mac Myers (not yet filed)
Ward III: Tim Bailey (not yet filed)

St. Robert City Council (all 2 year terms)
Mayor: George Sanders (filed 12/17)
Ward I: Theresa Cook (not yet filed)
Ward II: Gene Newkirk (not yet filed)
Ward III: Allan Johannsen (not yet filed)
Ward IV: Bill Shaw (filed 12/18)

Waynesville City Council: (all 2 year terms unless specified)
Ward I: Diana Stanford (filed 12/16)
Ward II: Adele Nickels (not yet filed)
Ward III: Luge Hardman (filed 12/16)
Ward IV: Mike France (filed 12/16)
Ward IV (unexpired): Butch O’Riley (filed 12/18)

Crocker R-II School Board (3 year terms):
Incumbents: Charles Worstell (filed 12/16), Jeff Curry (filed 12/17)

Dixon R-I School Board (3 year terms):
Incumbents: Troy Porter (filed 12/16), Craig Rivera (filed 12/16)

Laquey R-V School Board (3 year terms):
Incumbents: Mary Cristoffer (filed 12/16), Mary Ann Miller (not yet filed)
Challengers: Larry Southard (filed 12/16), Fanny Gan (filed 12/18)

Plato R-V School Board (3 year terms):
Incumbents: Mike Friend (not yet filed), Penny Morrison (not yet filed)
Incumbent (2 year term): Pete Scurlock (not yet filed)

Richland R-IV School Board (3 year terms):
Incumbents: Troy Posten (not yet filed), Jo-Ellen Ferguson (not yet filed)
Challenger: Brenda Mathes (filed 12/17)

Swedeborg R-III School Board (3 year terms):
Incumbents: Wayne King (filed 12/16), Jamie Alexander (not yet filed)
Incumbent (1 year term): Alexis Roam (not yet filed)

Waynesville R-VI School District (3 year terms):
Incumbents: Randy Walters (filed 12/16), David Tritten (not yet filed) 
Challengers: Leroy Fulmer (filed 12/16), Herman Blau (filed 12/16), Melvin Hensley (filed 12/16)

Click here to follow the Pulaski County Daily News on Twitter
Click here to follow the Pulaski County Daily News on Facebook  

Local Opinion

Printer-friendly format

Login and voice your opinion!
Do you know someone else who would like to see this?
Your Email:
Their Email:
(Will be included with e-mail)
Secret Code

In the box below, enter the Secret Code exactly as it appears above *


Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: