Welcome Visitor
Fri, Jun 2, 2023
91 members
Scurlock files seeking to regain prior seat on Plato R-V School Board
PLATO, Mo. (Dec. 18, 2009) — Only one more candidate turned in nomination papers on Friday.

That candidate, Pete Scurlock, filed for the Plato R-V School Board where he previously served after a disputed election but was then defeated when he ran for re-election.

Scurlock, who works in the heating and air conditioning business, was appointed in June 2008 to fill a vacancy due to the resignation of board member Lori Crabtree who failed to file a mandatory report with the Missouri Ethics Commission. Board members also interviewed Kim Hodges, who previously worked in a local bank as a loan officer and was also a former board member. Scurlock ran for a full three-year term in April 2009 but was defeated; Hodges ran for the unexpired two-year portion of the term and was elected.

Crabtree, who teaches in the Waynesville R-VI School District, placed third in a four-candidate race during the April 2008 board election, receiving 90 votes compared to 120 for fellow incumbent Doug Caldwell and 103 for challenger Shellene Beacham. Crabtree barely edged out Scurlock, the fourth candidate, who received 90 votes.

Crabtree’s failure to file the report “was discovered prior to the election, but too late to change the ballot. Consequently the election proceeded with all four candidates remaining on the ballot, despite the failure of one of the candidates to file the proper documentation,” according to a letter drafted by the school district’s attorney. “When the election was held the candidate, who was disqualified, was elected to the board by popular vote. At that time, the candidate agreed to resign, due to her failure to satisfy all of the procedural prerequisites for holding such office. The candidate receiving the least number of votes now claims he should be automatically placed on the board, as the other candidate was ineligible for the position.”

Candidate filing began Tuesday and runs until Jan. 19; voters have until March 10 to register for the April 6 election.

Unlike county elections where candidates must register with the county clerk’s office in the courthouse, candidates for school boards, city councils, fire districts, water districts, and other special districts go to their city clerk, school board secretary, or other designated official to turn in their candidacy papers. The only candidates who must register with the county clerk are those running for the Pulaski County Health Board.

A complete list of incumbents and declared candidates for school and city elections follows. Most school board races are for three-year terms and most city council races are for two-year terms.

City Councils
(All two-year seats unless otherwise specified)

St. Robert City Council
Ward I: Alderman Ralph Cook (filed 12/15)
Ward II: Alderman Ed Spotts (not yet filed)
Ward III: Alderman Todd Williams (filed 12/15)
Ward IV: Alderman Bill Urena (not yet filed)
Municipal Judge:
Thomas Julian (incumbent) filed 12/16
Gerald Marker (challenger) filed 12/17

Waynesville City Council
Ward I: Councilwoman Twyla Cordry (not yet filed)
Ward II (full term): Councilman Tim Mann (not yet filed)
Ward II (one year): Councilman Perry Roberts (not yet filed)
Ward III: Councilman Ed Conley (filed 12/15)
Ward IV: Councilman Butch O’Riley (not yet filed)

Crocker City Council
Ward I: Alderman Jeff Curry (not yet filed)
Ward II: Alderman Charles Stroburg (not yet filed)

Richland City Council
Ward I: Alderman Chris Lane (not yet filed)
Ward II: Alderman Gary Brown (not yet filed)
Ward III: Alderman Nathan Sheridan (not yet filed)

Dixon City Council
Ward I: Alderman Steve Martin (not yet filed)
Ward II: Alderman Lynn Whitten (not yet filed)
Ward III: Alderman William Carter (not yet filed)

School Boards
(All three year seats unless otherwise specified)

Crocker R-II School District
Incumbents: Don Mayhew, Kris York
Kris York filed 12/15
Mark Sasfy (challenger) filed 12/15
Don Mayhew filed 12/17

Dixon R-I School District
Incumbents: Tina Vrba, Donny Miller (not yet filed)
Tina Vrba filed 12/15
Tommy Nichols (challenger) filed 12/15
Steve Roberson (challenger) filed 12/17

Laquey R-V School District
Incumbents (three-year term): Phil Todd (not yet filed), Danny Click (not yet filed)
Vacant one-year term: (Wendy Wood resigned)
Mary Ann Miller (challenger) filed

Plato R-V School District
Incumbents: DeWayne Baker (not yet filed), Patti Niebruegge (not yet filed)
Pete Scurlock (challenger) filed 12/18

Richland R-IV School District
Incumbents: Tom Murray (not yet filed), Rob Black (not yet filed)

Swedeborg R-III School District
Incumbents: Greg Black (not yet filed), Alexis Roam (not yet filed)

Waynesville R-VI School District
Incumbents: Lori Laughlin, Janice Dye (not yet filed)
Lori Laughlin filed 12/15
Nathan Purdome (challenger) filed 12/15

Other Districts
Pulaski County Health Board
Paul Beydler (not yet filed)
Phyllis Graves (not yet filed)
Alice Roam (not yet filed)

Click here to follow the Pulaski County Daily News on Twitter
Click here to follow the Pulaski County Daily News on Facebook

Click here to comment for local opinion

Printer-friendly format

Do you know someone else who would like to see this?
Your Email:
Their Email:
(Will be included with e-mail)
Secret Code

In the box below, enter the Secret Code exactly as it appears above *


Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: