Welcome Visitor
Tue, Nov 28, 2023
282 members
Four candidates file for Crocker, Dixon, Laquey, St. Robert elected posts
CROCKER/DIXON/LAQUEY/SAINT ROBERT, Mo. (Dec. 17, 2009) — Three more candidates have turned in papers for the Crocker, Dixon and Waynesville school boards, and one has turned in papers to challenge the incumbent St. Robert municipal judge.

On Thursday, Crocker R-II School Board President Don Mayhew turned in his candidacy papers, which means both incumbents, Mayhew and Kris York, join challenger Mark Sasfy in running for the board in the April 6 election.

Also on Thursday, challenger Steve Roberson joined incumbent Tina Vrba and challenger Tommy Nichols who previously filed for the Dixon R-I School Board. The other incumbent whose term ends this year, Donny Miller, has not yet filed.

State law allows school boards, fire boards, water boards, and some other special districts to avoid the expense of holding an election if the same number of candidates file as are to be elected. Since three candidates have filed in Crocker and Dixon for only two seats, those districts are the first in the county for which there will definitely be an election if all candidates who have filed remain in the race.

Cities have to hold elections no matter how many people file, but Gerald Marker created the first contested race in any of Pulaski County’s five cities when he filed papers Thursday to challenge incumbent St. Robert Municipal Judge Thomas Julian, who filed Wednesday for re-election.

So far, Ward I Alderman Ralph Cook and Ward III Alderman Todd Williams in St. Robert and Ward III Councilman Ed Conley in Waynesville, all of whom filed on Tuesday, the first day of candidate filing, are the only city council candidates to turn in nomination papers for city councils.

Elsewhere in the county, Laquey R-V School District officials have confirmed that Mary Ann Miller, a former board member, has filed for election. The two incumbents, Phil Todd and Danny Click, have not yet filed for re-election to their three-year terms; a third board member, Wendy Wood, has resigned and her seat is open for a one-year term.

Candidate filing runs until Jan. 19; voters have until March 10 to register for the April 6 election.

Unlike county elections where candidates must register with the county clerk’s office in the courthouse, candidates for school boards, city councils, fire districts, water districts, and other special districts go to their city clerk, school board secretary, or other designated official to turn in their candidacy papers. The only candidates who must register with the county clerk are those running for the Pulaski County Health Board.

A complete list of incumbents and declared candidates for school and city elections follows. Most school board races are for three-year terms and most city council races are for two-year terms.

City Councils
(All two-year seats unless otherwise specified)

St. Robert City Council
Ward I: Alderman Ralph Cook (filed 12/15)
Ward II: Alderman Ed Spotts (not yet filed)
Ward III: Alderman Todd Williams (filed 12/15)
Ward IV: Alderman Bill Urena (not yet filed)
Municipal Judge:
Thomas Julian (incumbent) filed 12/16
Gerald Marker (challenger) filed 12/17

Waynesville City Council
Ward I: Councilwoman Twyla Cordry (not yet filed)
Ward II (full term): Councilman Tim Mann (not yet filed)
Ward II (one year): Councilman Perry Roberts (not yet filed)
Ward III: Councilman Ed Conley (filed 12/15)
Ward IV: Councilman Butch O’Riley (not yet filed)

Crocker City Council
Ward I: Alderman Jeff Curry (not yet filed)
Ward II: Alderman Charles Stroburg (not yet filed)

Richland City Council
Ward I: Alderman Chris Lane (not yet filed)
Ward II: Alderman Gary Brown (not yet filed)
Ward III: Alderman Nathan Sheridan (not yet filed)

Dixon City Council
Ward I: Alderman Steve Martin (not yet filed)
Ward II: Alderman Lynn Whitten (not yet filed)
Ward III: Alderman William Carter (not yet filed)

School Boards
(All three year seats unless otherwise specified)

Crocker R-II School District
Incumbents: Don Mayhew, Kris York
Kris York filed 12/15
Mark Sasfy (challenger) filed 12/15
Don Mayhew filed 12/17

Dixon R-I School District
Incumbents: Tina Vrba, Donny Miller (not yet filed)
Tina Vrba filed 12/15
Tommy Nichols (challenger) filed 12/15
Steve Roberson (challenger) filed 12/17

Laquey R-V School District
Incumbents (three-year term): Phil Todd (not yet filed), Danny Click (not yet filed)
Vacant one-year term: (Wendy Wood resigned)
Mary Ann Miller (challenger) filed

Plato R-V School District
Incumbents: DeWayne Baker (not yet filed), Patti Niebruegge (not yet filed)

Richland R-IV School District
Incumbents: Tom Murray (not yet filed), Rob Black (not yet filed)

Swedeborg R-III School District
Incumbents: Greg Black (not yet filed), Alexis Roam (not yet filed)

Waynesville R-VI School District
Incumbents: Lori Laughlin, Janice Dye (not yet filed)
Lori Laughlin filed 12/15
Nathan Purdome (challenger) filed 12/15

Other Districts
Pulaski County Health Board
Paul Beydler (not yet filed)
Phyllis Graves (not yet filed)
Alice Roam (not yet filed)

Click here to follow the Pulaski County Daily News on Twitter
Click here to follow the Pulaski County Daily News on Facebook

Click here to comment for local opinion

Printer-friendly format

Do you know someone else who would like to see this?
Your Email:
Their Email:
(Will be included with e-mail)
Secret Code

In the box below, enter the Secret Code exactly as it appears above *


Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: